Dear Family and Friends, 


For Mid-Autumn Festival, Loring made the “long” journey to Nanyue. He got into a car with a relative stranger along with said stranger’s wife and parents and they all drove towards the city of Hengyang. In order to get to Hengyang from Nanyue, you must take either a bus or taxi. A taxi is more convenient, but a bus is cheaper, so of course we opted for the bus. We found the bus station, and a man came up to us directly and Leigh started saying “Hengyang?” and the man just ushered us into his car. For a split second, I had this irrational fear that he might try to steal my organs, but then Celine Dion came on in his car and my anxiety quickly dissipated.

When we arrived in Hengyang, our new friend and taxi driver dropped us off right in front of the JZ Mall (no affiliation to the rapper. I checked). While there, Leigh and I window shopped. I have found that in China, you shouldn’t try anything on unless you absolutely want to buy it. Once the sales associate gets you into the dressing room, you will never come out. After I had finished trying absolutely everything on in the store Mango, and leaving with nothing of course, we decided to venture down the escalators to the grocery store.

Leigh headed down the escalators first and as she reached the bottom, I saw a mouse make a bee line straight for her foot. Next thing I know, Leigh has a mouse literally sandwiched in between her foot and her flip flop, she has gone white as a ghost and this blood curdling scream comes out of her. There was a lot of skin to mouse action. I understand how disturbing this is. Meanwhile, the Chinese people waiting outside the entrance all just look at her like “crazy foreigner” as the mouse runs straight past them and into the grocery store. Needless to say, I turned right on around and went back up.

After the traumatizing incident, we decided to treat ourselves to a little taste of home. Now do not judge us, but first we went to KFC and then we went to McDonalds twice. While there, I got myself a lovely, and might I add refreshing, fountain Pepsi. Now fountain drinks are almost as hard to come by as DC ( Diet Coke), DDP (Diet Dr. Pepper), or my favorite DP (Diet Pepsi), so needless to say I took that first sip and savored the hell out of it. As we lounged in KFC, and I creepily drank my Pepsi, Loring calls and tells us he has finally made it to the JZ Mall.

After meeting up with our friend and pleasantries were exchanged, Leigh and I took off towards McDonalds for the first time. I don’t think Loring had ever seen us move that quickly. After eating a delicious spicy chicken sandwich and some amazing French fries we headed to the park.

Once we got there, and walked around for a few minutes, we found this quaint place to paint pottery outdoors. We each picked out our sculptures (all very anime-esque), got some paint, and were given the royal treatment by the owner. All around us, there were four or more people crammed at one table, but the owner kept bringing more tables and stools for us. We each ended up with our own table and two stools. He even gave Loring a stool for his hat. When people came up to talk to us, the owner would stop whatever he was doing and run to form a barricade around us, so we wouldn’t be disturbed. He even paid a beggar to leave us alone. TIC (This is China).

After two and a half hours of painting later, we finally finished our beloved statues. Even though to Leigh and I’s dismay, Loring’s was voted the favorite by a little Chinese girl. I think I had a disadvantage because apparently in China, green hats mean you are a prostitute, so my little statue with bunny overalls is a hooker. Leigh painted a smurf with really creepy eyes, but a flawless coat. All in all it was a perfect day.

As the sun started to go down, we got back in a cab and headed back for Nanyue. I was so happy to see the little town again. Big city living aint for me no more. Once I got home, I relaxed a little and was excited to show Loring around. Even though this is his second stint with WorldTeach China, he had never been to Nanyue. In true Butler fashion, I immediately went to the grocery store to get the necessities; rice and wine. That night, the three of us just watched a movie and went to bed.

The next morning, we cooked breakfast (eggs and hash browns) in the wok, before getting dressed and heading to the tourist office to get our tickets to climb the mountain. Yes, I do think it is a little crazy to pay to torture yourself, but I did it anyways. We get to the window, and couldn’t express to the woman that we were teachers and get a discount, so after five minutes of everyone looking through their Chinese phrase book, Becky comes out of nowhere to rescue us! She flew in, and got us our tickets with no problem. She is a godsend and without her, I have a feeling we would have either paid a lot more or not gone at all.

Becky then decides we need to be shown the royal treatment as well. We get ushered right by the line and straight to the bus. I felt bad because we literally got to bypass 50 people who were patiently waiting in line, and then here come the foreigners who get right on. TIC. I am learning that everytime I try to thank someone they respond with “Do not worry. It is my duty”. At first I thought it was a “lost in translation” thing, but now I actually think that they believe it is their duty to show us the best possible time. Anyhow, we get on the bus and head towards the mountain.

Now, let me put this into perspective for you. Last weekend, Leigh and I had climbed the mountain with Becky and her family. When I say climbed the mountain I mean we took a bus to the cable car, then the cable car to the top where you go up a flight of stairs for about 45 minutes till you get to the peak. On this climb, old men with canes and women with high heels were bypassing me. So when Loring and Leigh got off the bus at the very bottom of the mountain and started walking, I peed my pants a little.

The vast majority of the climb is stairs. You literally just go up stair case after stair case for six hours until you finally reach the top. I have never been so ecstatic to see flat ground in my entire life. I think I cried a little everytime I wasn’t on an incline. It could have been sweat though. It was a very hot day. Now for me, there was no life-changing metaphoric feeling about me climbing my own personal mountain that day, but I can tell you that I made that mountain my bitch. I know Mom, that is vulgar, but honestly there is no other way to describe the feeling of standing on top of that mountain and knowing that I just climbed 4,266 feet of stairs for six hours. I think I earned a little vulgarity.

Now after we reached the top, we all looked at each other and unanimously decided on taking the bus back down. As we boarded the bus, we had never been so grateful for a seat. Loring even let an old Chinese woman take a nap on him. The woman vomiting three seats ahead didn’t affect me in the slightest. I was content. It truly is the little things in life.

That night, we went to Barbara’s (my friend who owns the tea shop) restaurant for dinner. She was not there, but we chowed down on some delicious tofu, rice and sweet potato cakes. Leigh even went and found the burrito man and we each ate a Chinese burrito (Loring thinks it is more of a wrap, but I disagree). Then needless to say, I went home and took a long shower, put on my pajamas and went to bed.

The next day, Leigh and I had to work, but we still had to entertain our guest of course! For lunch, Stella took the three of us, along with her husband and Tony, to the Buddhist temple for lunch. The temple is an oasis in the middle of the town. It has a grand gate, and if it is open, then you may enter for lunch. If it is not, then you must find somewhere else to go. Luckily, for us, the gate was open so we went on inside. Stella had forewarned Leigh and I about the different rules and customs that went along with eating at the monastery. These rules include:

1.     No talking.

2.     Men and women must segregate.

3.     You must consume all of the food that is put in front you (not a problem for me).

4.     After finishing your meal, monks will come around with water for you to wash your bowl. You must drink the water after you have rinsed your bowl.

When being ushered into the eating area, the monks were chanting beautifully. The peace and calm that I felt when I was there, I wish I could bottle and take with me for when my anxiety kicks in. I sat in between Stella and Leigh. I snuck my phone in, so that I could record the monks chanting. I got caught though, but not before I got a nice little video. The food was absolutely delicious, actually possibly the best food I have had since getting to China. I did accidentally drop a piece of rice on the table and a monk came over and pointed at it, watching me until I figured out how to pick up one piece of rice with my chopsticks. It took a few seconds. I panicked under pressure. The monastery was pretty spectacular and I plan on going back many times before leaving Nanyue.

All in all, my first holiday in China was a success. I didn’t go very far, but I did some pretty unbelievable things. I wouldn’t change a second of it. I am falling more in love with this place every day. Thank you again for all your support and I love and miss you all dearly. I will talk to you soon!

Love,

Eileen


Marie butler
11/2/2013 03:50:57 am

What a well written chronicle. Please continue with more

Reply



Leave a Reply.